UK Covid travel: 7 new countries added to green list

UK Covid travel: 7 new countries added to green list

UK Covid travel: 7 new countries added to green list

Canada and Denmark have been added to the UK’s green list – meaning they will not need to self-isolate upon arrival in the UK. 

Finland, Switzerland, the Azores, Liechtenstein and Lithuania have also been added to the green list. 

Thailand and Montenegro have now been added to the UK’s red list and travellers to the UK will need to isolate in government-approved hotels.

All arrivals must take at least one Covid test – but many countries have banned UK residents from entering. 

Travellers from a green list country you will not need to quarantine when they arrive back in the UK – regardless of whether you’ve had both doses of a vaccine. But will need to be tested before their return to the UK. 

Only British or Irish nationals and UK residents are allowed into the country if they have been to red list countries and will need to pay to quarantine in a government-approved hotel. 

For those returning from amber list countries, fully vaccinated adults will not need to quarantine but will need to have tests before returning and two days after they arrive back. 

Those returning from amber list countries (which most countries are in) who have not had both jabs will need to isolate at home for 10 days and have Covid tests. 

The government has been heavily criticised by the travel industry for the changing of the rules. The airlines say the system risked making international travel “more expensive, burdensome and uncertain compared to other countries.” 

Heathrow pleads for US to ease travel restrictions



FacebookPlease like our page

Twitter Twitter updates available in English and Arabic. Please follow us and we would love to hear from you

Instagram – Follow our pages in English and Arabic

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.