Close Menu

World Cup 2022: Will Harry Kane defend his golden boot? 


What is the Golden Boot? 

The top goal scorer of the tournament. Harry Kane (England) won the last World Cup golden boot – with six goals scored. 

How is the Golden Glove award determined World Cup?

The top goal scorer (or goal scorers in the event of a tie) is awarded the Golden Boot. The Golden Gloves award has been given to the top-performing goalkeeper of the tournament since 1994.


World Cup 2022: Will Harry Kane defend his golden boot? 

The World Cup is right around the corner and 32 teams are preparing to step up to the biggest stage in football. And as the teams prepare to battle it out, we’re looking at the odds of who will win the Golden Boot. 

England’s Harry Kane won it during the last world cup, scoring six goals in the tournament. But will he be able to defend it? England should make it out the group stage, where they will face Wales, Iran and USA. But if they top the group stage, their route to the final is a tough one – and pundits are expecting them to be knocked out by the quarter-finals. If this proves true, Harry Kane will likely not be awarded the golden boot. 

World Cup 2022: Will Harry Kane defend his golden boot? 
World Cup 2022: Will Harry Kane defend his golden boot? 

Here’s a look at the previous Golden Boot winner. 

1930: Guillermo Stabile (Argentina) – eight goals

1934: Oldrich Nejedly (Czech Republic) – five goals 

1938: Leonidas (Brazil) – seven goals

1950: Ademir (Brazil) – eight goals

1954: Sandor Kocsis (Hungary) – 11 goals

1958: Just Fontaine (France) – 13 goals

1962: Florian Albert (Hungary), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union), Garrincha (Brazil) – four goals

1966: Eusebio (Portugal) – six goals 

1970: Gerd Muller (Germany) – 10 goals

1974: Grzegorz Lato (Poland) – seven goals

1978: Mario Kempes (Argentina) – six goals

1982: Paolo Rossi (Italy) – six goals

1986: Gary Lineker (England) – six goals

1990: Salvatore Schillaci (Italy) – six goals

1994: Oleg Salenko (Russia), Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria) – six goals

1998: Davor Suker (Croatia) – six goals

2002: Ronaldo (Brazil) – eight goals

2006: Miroslav Klose (Germany) – five goals

2010: Thomas Muller (Germany) – five goals

2014: James Rodríguez (Colombia) – six goals

2018: Harry Kane (England) – six goals

Related Stories

There is of course still a good chance England can win the world cup. A team with a mix of experience and youth – and a drive to win. Despite a disappointing appearance at the Nations League, the world cup is the biggest football stage there is. 

The Nations League doesn’t hold much importance to fans – for both winners and losers of the competition, with many football fans seeing it as glorified friendlies. 

But the world cup will see the lions bring everything they have. Under Gareth Southgate, the team genuinely appear happy to be together, and on paper, England have some of the best players in the world. Being abroad we can only hope helps the team as they won’t have the pressure of playing in front of a home crowd. 

And even if England doesn’t make it to the final, with the sort of talent in the team, Harry Kane could easily defend his golden boot title.

Where is the FIFA World Cup 2022 schedule?

Following a dazzling Final Draw for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™, the final tournament match schedule has been published on FIFA+.

Given the compact nature of Qatar, event organisers were able to assign, for the first time ever, group stage games to a stadium and kick-off time for each matchday after the final draw, optimising the match schedule for the benefit and comfort of spectators, teams, media and the global audience.

A total of 64 games will be played to decide the winners of the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™. See when and where the action will take place.

Follow the schedule here

The 2022 FIFA World Cup begins on Nov. 20 in what will be the first winter edition in the history of the competition. The best players in the world will take center stage in Qatar as the action runs through the final on Dec. 18.
The cost might be of the ticket is an estimate for a group match ranging from $105 to $210, and the ticket for the final ranges from $455 to $1,100. All tickets are sold in Qatari riyal (QAR) to both residents of Qatar and internationals. Here are list of the 2022 FIFA World Cup Ticket Prices below with detailed price
The 2022 World Cup starts on November 20 in Qatar when temperatures generally start falling heading into winter. Early group games will likely be the hottest with highs of 26-28°C (78-82°F) possible
Yes, alcohol will be sold in Qatari stadiums at the World Cup. Beer will be sold and available for fans three hours before and one hour after kick-off. It will not be available during the games

Like this article?

Get access to our free Fitness classes with your membership and a perfectly crafted email with your news summary